Timber Towns Victoria (TTV) is an incorporated Local Government Association formed in the early 1980s, representing the interests of municipal councils in relation to forestry on both public and private land.  The Association’s primary function is to provide a forum for local government to address the management of forests and forest industries and their impact on local communities.

A key strategic priority for Timber Towns Victoria is the TIRES report (Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study) which aims to identify and quantify upgrades needed to the road network that supports the timber industry across Victoria.  The study provides a detailed assessment of the projected works and costs for road infrastructure required to serve the needs of the timber industry.

TIRES reports are reviewed every five years, 2011-2015 & 2016-2020 with another review currently in the scoping stage.

The TIRES report is divided into the four regions – North East, Gippsland, Central Victoria and South West Victoria – with the overall outcome being a prioritised plan for upgrades required to the road network for the next five years.  It places these works in a state wide economic context, with the report examining the economic benefits of the forest industry in Victoria to the State Government, local governments, industry, and the community.

“Timber Towns Victoria continues to be a strong advocate for the community and industry to the State Government on the impact that changes to legalisation have regarding the timber industry and our communities.”
– Cr Karen Stephens, President, Timber Towns Victoria 2017 – current

The Executive Members Elected at the Annual General Meeting 1 September 2023
President: Cr Karen Stephens (Glenelg Shire)
Vice President: Cr Michael Leaney (Baw Baw Shire)
Treasurer: Cr Tom Sullivan (Moorabool Shire)
Executive Committee Members:
Cr Tosh Finnigan (Colac Otway Shire)
Cr Ian Getsom (Golden Plains Shire)
Cr Garner Smith (Gannawarra Shire)
Paul Phelan (CEO, Glenelg Shire)
Mark Coleman (Economic Development Officer, Wellington Shire)
The Regions and Councils of TTV

Click map for larger view.

TTV represents the following shires:



There are many benefits to individual councils in becoming a member of a local government group such as TTV, including:

  • The opportunity to join an advocacy body and have issues advanced on council’s behalf
  • Networking opportunities across the sector
  • Communication channels at both the State and Federal level
  • Access to information regarding forest policy development
  • Opportunity to direct projects and policy initiatives that benefit the local government sector.


Membership of the Association is open to all Victorian municipalities where forest industries are recognised as significant contributors to the economy and community. Timber Towns Victoria has member councils across the state. Forest based industries and other interest groups are not represented by the Association.

Each member council may nominate two representatives to attend meetings, one of whom must be an elected councillor.

Administration of TTV is vested in the Executive Committee. A President, Vice president and Treasurer are appointed annually, and the Association is supported by a part-time administration support officer. Members meet on alternate months to the General Meetings of Association.

Become a member

Please contact secretary@timbertownsvictoria.com.au for all enquiries.

Timeline of major events


The entity Timber Towns was established.


Establishment Timber Towns Organisation.


Timber Towns now called Timber Towns Association.

Financial membership of twenty-six local government bodies, with another eighteen municipalities affiliated with the association.


Timber Towns Association changed name to Timber Towns Victoria.


Timber Towns Victoria assisted in developing the ‘Timber Harvesting Plan Certification System’.

The first Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study (TIRES) report created.


The first Regional Forest Agreement signed for East Gippsland and Central Highlands.


Grants received to complete two projects relating to the Victorian Private Forestry Strategy.

An internal subcommittee was organised to address the West Victoria Regional Forest Agreement.


Timber Towns Victoria demonstrated support of the Timber Harvesting Plan Certification System.

TIRES report became a stronger lobbying tool to request funding from the state government for roads used by the timber industry.


The West Victoria and Gippsland Regional Forest Agreements were completed finalising the last of the five Victorian Regional Forest Agreements.


TIRES Report updated.


A new Timber Towns Victoria logo designed- A tree with branches that resemble images of Victoria.


Timber Towns Victoria agreed to fund a project on the socio-economic impacts of recent bushfires in North-East Victoria and East Gippsland in 2003.

The Forest Practitioner Accreditation Scheme up and running and administrated through Timber Towns Victoria.


Timber Towns Victoria released the Local Timber Roads Funding Strategy.


The first Timber Towns Victoria Strategic Plan was developed.


Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study (TIRES) 2011-2015 report completed.


Let Sanity Prevail – The History of Timber Towns Victoria published.


Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study (TIRES) 2016-2020 report completed.

TTV partnered with Victorian & SA Governments for a review of the Green Triangle Freight Action Plan.


Review Green Triangle Freight Action Plan released.


New TTV Strategic Plan 2019-2022 developed and adopted.

TTV partnered with Australian Forest Product Association and Victorian Association Forest Industries advocating to Victorian Government to review Native Harvest decision in November.


Scoping of Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study (TIRES) report 2020-2025.

New TTV website launched.


Released report on Specialised Analysis for the Timber Towns Victoria Council Areas 2021.

TTV President appointed to the Victorian Forestry Plan Advisory Committee by the Hon Mary-Anne Thomas Minister for Agriculture.


Timber Industry Road Evaluation Study (TIRES) Report drafting commenced February 2022.

Timber Towns Victoria hosted Gippsland native timber industry round table meeting April 2022.

Timber Towns Victoria Presidents
Start Finish Name Shire
1984 1987 Brenda Murray Shire of Orbost
1987 1988 Alan Billing Shire of Colac
1989 1990 Paul Gilmore Shire of Alexandra
1990 1990 Kevin Smith Shire of Myrtleford
1990 1990 Paul Gilmore Shire of Alexandra
1993 1994 Jim Ure Mitchell Shire
1994 Amalgamation
1995 Missing data
1996 1998 Jim Ure Mitchell Shire
1999 2000 Noel Harvey Macedon Ranges Shire
2000 2003 Bob Orr Hepburn Shire
2003 2003 Jenny Blake Golden Plains Shire
2003 2010 Malcolm Hole Wellington Shire
2011 2012 Bill Harrington Baw Baw Shire
2012 2016 Jan Vonarx Alpine Shire
2017 Current Karen Stephens Glenelg Shire